The Irrecoverable

The first time we met, I  was wearing my white pearls.

I wore them everyday, with every outfit,

I began to be associated with them

It was my trademark.

 

The first time you complimented me,

You referred to those white pearls,

You were the first person to point them out

It felt like a special feature of mine was finally noticed.

 

The first time we were alone, I was wearing my white pearls.

I wore them, because I thought you would notice them,

But that day, you ignored them

By the end of the night I had lost one of them.

 

The first time I walked from your house to mine, I went without my white pearls.

We had spent what seemed like hours looking for them,

On your bed, on the floor, on the couch,

But we never found them.

 

I still think of those white pearls, on that day

I lost my definition,

I lost my worth,

I lost my importance.

 

I tried to replace them,

But I could never get back

my favorite pair of white pearls.

 

-Grushenka Monsalve

Leave a Reply

